• IMRFAwards Dark Sky Jan18small
  • IMRFAwards ROR Jan18small
  • IMRF Awards Dark Heli Jan18small
  • IMRFAwards WWater Jan18small
  • IMRF Awards CRoom Jan18small

Media Gallery 2018

Media Gallery 2018

Photos and Videos of the Awards Ceremony 2018 Read More



Check Out the IMRF Awards Categories. Read More

The Finalist 2018

The Finalists 2018

Check out the 2018 Finalists Read More

About the IMRF Awards

About the IMRF Awards

The International Maritime Rescue Federation (IMRF) Awards aim to recognise some of the exceptional individuals and organisations around the world that make maritime search and rescue (SAR) possible.

The IMRF Awards (formerly known as the H.E.R.O. Awards) have proved a great success in the previous years, raising awareness of the excellent work done by those involved in the maritime SAR community, including highlighting innovative new SAR products and technologies.

We have four categories one can make a nomination in:

minilogoimrf3 Individual Award   - for outstanding individual contribution to a maritime SAR operation;
minilogoimrf3 Team Award – for outstanding team contribution to a maritime SAR operation;
minilogoimrf3 Innovation & Technology Award - for innovation and technology in maritime search and rescue;
minilogoimrf3 Lifetime Achievement Award – for outstanding contribution to maritime search and rescue ‘The Vladimir Maksimov Award'.

The Nomination form will be open in the near future. Watch this space ....

The Winners of the IMRF Awards 2018 Are ...

Posted in IMRF Awards News -

The winners of the IMRF Awards 2018 have been announced at a formal dinner and award ceremony attended by shortlisted finalists from around the world.

Theresa Crossley, CEO IMRF says; “The winners of this years’ IMRF Awards include some outstanding individuals and exceptional organisations and companies who really set the ‘gold standard’ for maritime search and rescue around the world."

We would like to thank all those who submitted nominations. We congratulate all those who were shortlisted and the runners up in each category, but most of all we celebrate this years’ winners. They really are remarkable and act as an inspiration to all those working and volunteering all around the world to prevent loss of life in the world’s waters. We would also like to thank all of the IMRF Award sponsors who make this global recognition and celebration of maritime SAR excellence possible, and, of course, the Norwegian Society for Sea Rescue, who so generously hosted this year’s Awards ceremony.

The winner of the IMRF Award 2018 for Outstanding Individual Contribution to a Maritime SAR Operation is Captain Siddarth Sharma, a ship's master from Mumbai, India.

The winner of the IMRF Award 2018 for Outstanding Team Contribution to a Maritime SAR Operation is the crew of KNRM Station Terschelling Paal 8, from Friesland, Netherlands.

The winner of the IMRF Award 2018 for Innovation and Technology in Maritime Search and Rescue is the Pink Rescue Buoy, developed by the National Sea Rescue Institute in South Africa.

Exceptionally, there were two winners of the IMRF Vladimir Maksimov Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Maritime SAR Sector, with both finalists being presented with awards. The judges agreed that both John Kooijman, who founded CITRO (Curacao Sea Rescue Organisation) and Captain Nick Guerchev, Chairman and founder of BULSAR, the Bulgarian National Volunteer Maritime Safety Society had both made outstanding contributions to maritime safety. Captain Toma Tomov was present to take the Award on behalf of Captain Guerchev.

RS140a    Frode Rostad Stein Erik Aannerud1
Espen Johan Hole, Kristian Lundemo
& Magnus Hafslund
  Frode Rostad & Stein Erik Aannerud

Finally, the winner of the IMRF 2018 People’s Choice Award was the Canadian Coast Guard Rescue Specialists. Anyone could vote for this category by visiting the IMRF facebook page and ‘liking’ the finalist they thought most deserving. More than 2089 votes were cast for the Canadian Coast Guard Rescue Specialists. More than 11,600 "likes" and "shares" were submitted in total for all the Finalists.

The winners of the IMRF Awards 2018 were announced at the IMRF Awards ceremony and dinner on Thursday 8 November, which was hosted by the Norwegian Society for Sea Rescue (RS) at their training centre, RS Noatun near Horten in Norway.

RS also presented two Local Hero Awards 2018 to two exceptional SAR teams from Norway. Coxwain Espen Johan Hole and crew members Kristian Lundemo and Magnus Hafslund from RS in Norway were given a Local Hero Award 2018 for their part in a high-profile rescue saving three people.

And a Local Hero Award 2018 was presented to Frode Rostad and Stein Erik Aannerud from RS’s Voluntary Search and Rescue Unit at Lake Mjøsa, recognising their tireless volunteering saving lives at sea, over the last 20 years.

The IMRF Awards were created three years ago to recognise and reward the selfless efforts of search and rescue operators around the world, who make many sacrifices to saves lives at sea.



The judges of the IMRF Awards 2018 were: Michael Vlasto (Former IMRF Chair and Chair of the Awards Judging Panel); Nigel Clifford (General Manager Safety and Response, Maritime New Zealand); Jared Blows (Maritime Rescue Coordination Centre Chief, MRCC Cape Town, South Africa); Stein Solberg (JNCC Stavanger, Norway); Gwynne Lewis (Maritime Product Line Director, Orolia) and Nicolai Jarlsby (President, Norwegian Society for Sea Rescue).

Latest News

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6

The Sponsors & Host of IMRF Awards 2018​

Redningsselskapet Logowhite     Orolia WHITE      HammerWhite     inmarsat1White   Swede Ship1WHITE edited 1    

Norwegian Society for Sea Rescue

Host of the

IMRF Awards 2018 & IMRF Full Members

Orolia Maritime

Lead Sponsor of the

IMRF Awards 2018 &
of the Team Award 2018 (new window)

CM Hammar

Sponsor of the

Individual Award 2018 (new window)


Sponsor of the

Lifetime Achievement Award 2018 (new window)

Swede Ship Marine

Sponsor of the

IMRF Awards Dinner


PoleStar logoCYMK300dpiWhite   NSOF farge rund   logo eng br1white   13 DNMF logo eng medring 2Witelts edited 1    HP logo farge breddeformat 2012 cleanWHITE edited 1 Navigate1White  

Pole Star

Sponsor of the

Innovation & Technology IMRF Award (new window)


NSOF Norsk Sjooffisersforbund  

Sponsors of 

Local Hero Award (new window)

Norwegian Seafarers Union  

Sponsors of the

Local Hero Award (new window)

Norwegian Union of Marine Engineers

Sponsors of the

Local Hero Award (new window)


Hansen Protection

Sponsors of  the

Local Hero Award (new window)


Navigate PR

Sponsors of 

People's Choice Award (new window)


For more information about our Sponsors and Host, visit The 2018 Sponsors & Host page.

Want to become a Sponsor, check out our "Call for Sponsors" page.

Translate this Website


Contact Info -

International Maritime Rescue Federation
IMRF Awards
50 Allardice Street
AB39 2RA
United Kingdom

Tel: +44 (0) 1569 767405

E-mail:  imrfawards@imrf.org.uk

Important Pages


IMRF Bookshop (new window)


Become a Member (new window)



Members Log In

Members can log in here. Have you forgotten your username/password? E-mail us at info@imrf.org.uk for resetting your password. Or use the "Forgot Login?" function below.